Posted by: facetothewind | January 26, 2014

Bye Bye Chiang Mai

Parting is often such sweet sorrow. Sometimes it’s a big fat good riddance. Saying goodbye to Chiang Mai is usually mixed. Often a bit poignant to part with some folks I am fond of. I have some sweet connections with a few folks here, but it’s time to head out on the journey…Pai and my birthday beckon. Chiang Mai has just grown enormously without any regard for the environment or infrastructure, and is suffering from it. It’s often just noisy, polluted and smells like sewage. So I am focusing my attention elsewhere in the future…like KL or who knows where else?

For now, the goodbyes…

IMG_5417

Goodbye to hotel manager Pi Ampai who always welcomes me home here at the Triple Palms House. Sweet, competent woman.

IMG_5380

Goodbye to the woman who cleans my room with her baby boy in the backpack. I can’t pronounce her name so I won’t even try to type it.

IMG_4539

Bye to Ponapa. She made me countless meals in her little kitchen with her pink hat. I cycle by her kitchen and ring my bell. She yells to me, “Bai nai?” (where are you going). I yell back “Bai teow!” (going out). She feels satisfied with that answer and gives me the nod and her blessing, often with a full belly of Thai goodness from her little garage kitchen.

IMG_4535

Bye to Tu who sewed some wonderful clothes for the next part of my life. We barely understand each other but she calls to me, “My Friend,” every time I stop by her workshop.

Thanks Tu, for the gift of scraps of fabric you made into handkerchiefs for me. Such a lovely gesture.

Thanks Tu, for the gift of scraps of fabric you made into handkerchiefs for me. Such a lovely gesture.

IMG_5410

Goodbye to the Fat Albert Buddha.

IMG_5411

IMG_5419

Bye, Manu from Austria…one of the loveliest people I’ve ever met.

Bye Pooh. Fun getting to know you. You're a good kid and and I appreciate your sincerity — I know what a struggle that is in Thailand.

Bye Pooh. Fun getting to know you. You’re a good kid and and I appreciate your sincerity — I know what a challenge that is in Thailand. Don’t forget to work on those past tense verbs and those soft J’s and G’s at the end of words. Try it: binge and purge. Muah!

IMG_5246

Goodbye to the masked wokkers who make the radish cakes at the fabric market. Gonna miss those!

And hello long lost friends.

IMG_5407

Meka from Asheville on the left. My neighbor Kevin from Hawaii on the right.

Next stop, Pai at 50.

Responses

  1. I was sorry there were not more photos of those you said good bye. What a sweet idea. Im going to do the same with the people I met in Marbella when I leave this spring. We took a drive to Madera Park, off of 19 and loved it. Im going to go back soon for a nice long hike in the oaks.

    Looks like I didnt write down the date of your birthday. Please send when you get a chance and all the best with seeing Sebby again.

    Love T


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

