Posted by: facetothewind | February 26, 2006

Dawn's Calling

Dawn’s Calling
2/26/06

Each morning I awake
Long before dawn
Is it the rooster that crows?
Or the painful realization
That at some point in midlife
It became impossible to hold me?

I grab my pillows and hide from the light
Ignoring that ungodly call at dawn
That reminds me to check
That empty place in my bed
And make sure no one is there
Still.

But today,
As the morning opened its sleepy eye
A faint light appeared on the horizon
And I knew something was different
It occurred to me here at midlife
That early in the morning
Still alone in my bed
Someone killed the rooster
And I can go back to sleep

Leave a Reply

Categories

