Posted by: facetothewind | July 16, 2008

Farewell to Asia Tour

Click to enlarge:

I’m gearing up for my final trip to Asia this winter, before the American economy collapses, the dollar is worthless and air travel becomes only for the wealthy. So I’m going to do it in style! I loaded up today on fabrics to get my clothes made for me in Bangkok. My friend Larry Hermsen took me on a fabric shopping spree in Portland while I took notes about how to get clothes custom made from a tailor. Looks like I’ll be leaving mid-December for a month and should return with a suit jacket, 1 vest, 1 pair of pants and 6 shirts.

I will be taking shirts with that “vintage fit” from the 70s before the garment industry enlarged the sizes to meet the expanding measurements of the average American. The industry in America has left me to wear “small” shirts that fit me in the chest but with sleeves too short or “medium” shirts that are big enough for two of me. So I end up having to have medium shirts tailored lest I look like a flying spinnaker and so if I have to do that at about $25 a pop, why not just get them made from scratch for the same cost? The Thai tailors will use the old shirts for patterns.

Categories

