Posted by: facetothewind | December 29, 2008

Caving with the monks

Here’s a photo I shot of Lai – one of the novices who took me to see a cave. I befriended some of the saffron-robed novices in my spare time in Luang Prabang. I don’t know why I thought monks were serious and mysterious. They’re just young men and goof off like everyone else. They just have some rules that they don’t break or they’re out. They asked me if I wanted to go to the caves across the river…I felt like I was going out with the flying nuns. They were very eager for adventure and friendship. I spent many hours sitting with them under the trees sharing my iPod and talking about the books they’re reading: Catcher in the Rye and To Kill a Mockingbird (in English).

Watch the video of Luang Prabang and the flying nuns…

FYI – I’m back in Chiang Mai now and taking the night train to Bangkok tonight to see Yo and head to Cambodia with him and maybe have a new year’s eve party with the farang.

Just picked up the dandy wardrobe from the tailor. It’s exquisite! My luggage has morbid obesity now.

Categories

