Posted by: facetothewind | October 10, 2009

Singing under bridges and dreaming of rivers

Bridge

Living in Tucson, sometimes you have to get creative about what to do with a free evening. This is the town that still plays re-runs of Lawrence Welk on PBS on Saturday night. If we were in a small town in the Midwest, we’d sit on the swing and watch the grass grow. Alas, we don’t have grass. We have cactus and dry rivers.

Last night Sebastian and I went on a long bike ride along our “river” and sang German and Latin songs under a bridge. I know it’s not New York or San Francisco, but it is the simple pleasure of sunshine and love and song. I’ve lived in New York and SF most of my adult life. When I lived in New York, I spent my Saturday nights walking alone by the river wishing for a boyfriend. Now I’m in Tucson with a boyfriend wishing for a river.

Would I rather sing songs with my boyfriend in Tucson or live in fabulous city with a real river? There’s no question, I’d choose the reality of Sebastian under a bridge and dream of the water.

So, prepare to be underwhelmed but take heart that no dinosaurs were burned in the making of this film…

Categories

