Posted by: facetothewind | August 7, 2010

Hoofing it in the Louvre

One of the great dreams of my life was dashed yesterday…a visit to the Louvre to see the old masters. Mostly what I saw was pushy tourists with cameras, and in spite of all the warnings to not use flash on cameras, flashes were popping off like a disco. And the guards did nothing. I was shocked. Here is my experience, and for the record, I did not use flash. Here’s the Moaning Lisa…

Here’s the Venus de Milo…

Here’s Veronese’s Les Noces de Cana with Festival of Tourists…

Delacroix’s Tour Guide Leading the People…

Responses

  1. Yes, the problem is traveling in the summer. I know you know this is the worst time to sightsee, but needs must, I suppose.

    I’ve always been to Paris off-season, including in the dead of winter. There are still tourists, of course, but far fewer of them.

    As for the Louvre, not only are the Rude and Obnoxious Ones snapping their cameras like mad, despite the prohibition against it, but they also expect you to give way as they “compose” their shots. I always refuse. I’m at a museum to see the works of art, not to stand aside and shuffle and dodge so I won’t mess up someone’s fatuous picture. They don’t even want to look, they just want to prove they were there. How else to explain the behavior of walking up to a work, immediately zipping out a camera, snapping, and moving on??

    It’s even worse in the churches. And I say this as an atheist. The behavior of most tourists is so disrespectful — they clomp in talking and giggling and chattering, in their gross shorts and T-shirts and halter-tops and fanny-packs and water bottles sticking out of every pocket, setting off their camera flashes like there’s no tomorrow, oblivious to their surroundings, even interrupting services. I’m sure many of them think of themselves as Christians, to boot.

    Go back at another time of year, David, and really fall in love, even more than you already have.


Leave a Reply

Categories

