Posted by: facetothewind | October 6, 2010

Auf wiedersehen, Sebby

Just before his flight this morning, we stood at the kitchen counter with nothing left to say that hasn’t already been said and communicated by the sad gazes we give each other. He hugs me one more time while washing the dishes. I can’t help myself from crying. Waving goodbye at the airport, I lose my breath. Again. Our bed now empty and quiet, I roll myself up in a blanket and fall asleep listening to songs we once sung. My heart retreats for the fall and life goes on separately. Every time we say goodbye, he takes the color out of my life. But somehow, miraculously, I know how to navigate black and white.

Travel well, Sebastian. See you next summer in Germany.

Leave a Reply

Categories

