Posted by: facetothewind | June 28, 2011

Hilltop paradise

I left San Francisco and all the Pride commotion on Sunday for Charlie & Lark’s hilltop ranch in Redwood Valley in Mendocino County about 3 hours north of San Francisco. It’s spectacularly beautiful on their 20 acre ranch in the clouds. How wonderful the sun feels, how soothing are the gentle sounds and dancing of the range grass in the wind. Charlie and I sing at the piano. Lark and I collect flowers and swim in the east fork of the Rusian River near Potter Valley.

Fully aware that Tucson is 112 degrees make me ever more grateful to be in the lush coolness of the mountains. Charlie and I have known each other for about 17 years. Lark I think about 15 years. We feel like family together sharing the cooking, soaks in the hot tub, hikes, massages and quiet conversations watching the sun go down at the dinner table. Charlie and I became close back in San Francisco at the end of the dark ages of AIDS when he lost his lover and I lost my best friend. Something about going through darkness together forges an eternal bond.

Today it was actually cold and rainy — virtually unheard of this time of year. I am not minding it at all. I love smelling the wet rockroses and sitting in the hot tub watching the clouds work their way up the mountain, cross overhead and dump their payload.

Join me for a foggy walk in the damp oak forest of Mendocino…

Responses

  1. What a lovely respite, especially after the madness of S.F.!

  2. want to sit under those wet trees now. It looks lovely and of course your pics are stunning. I particularly love the sepia in the first one and the play of the dark and light…. mmmmm


Leave a Reply

Categories

