Posted by: facetothewind | July 3, 2011

Starkly Mendocino

Charlie, Lark and I took a little road trip to the Mendocino coast on Friday, goofing around in the fabulously golden coastal prairie grasses dotted with wildflowers and cow parsnips.

We visited the town of Mendocino which is a cute little Victorian village of about a thousand people. It was featured in movies East of Eden and the TV show Murder She Wrote with Angela Landsbury. Its starkness reminds me of the paintings of Andrew Wyeth and Edward Hopper.

So I decided I would to walk into the minds of these painters and attempt to capture that starkness on film.

Here’s what I found in this nearly treeless, windswept little town by the sea.

Imagine the sound of a moaning buoy, waves crashing…

and wind blowing through the grasses and picket fences.

And that is Mendocino.

* * *

On another note, I put together a quartet at the Billy Club (a men’s gathering I occasionally attend in Northern California) and we sang Taize songs for the talent show…

This was such a delight for me since I never get such an enthusiastic response from an audience in my choir. This was exhilarating. Charlie sang soprano. I sang bass. Patchez is doing alto and Ruey is singing soprano.

Responses

  1. loved this David! Did you rehearse much? Sounded quite polished to my unpolished ear…lovely!


Leave a Reply

Categories

