Posted by: facetothewind | January 8, 2012

Bookendings

I met him in a café on 4th Ave at a Namoli concert in 2004. He was just a boy then — still in high school. I saw that same smile today, now on the face of a man as I walked into a café 8 years later, Namoli’s sweet voice still spilling out the door. Today it was time to say goodbye to Norbert as he sets out to live in Los Angeles with his boyfriend. And so this is the bookend of Norbert Garcia.

For her last song today, Namoli sang the Beatles’ song “In My Life” at the end of her concert in Café Passe. Tears began streaming down my eyes as I felt the poignancy that both Namoli and Norbert are leaving Tucson.

There are places I’ll remember
All my life, though some have changed
Some forever, not for better
Some have gone and some remain
All these places had their moments
With lovers and friends, I still can recall
Some are dead and some are living
In my life, I’ve loved them all

Here’s a Poem by Rainer Maria Rilke on the occasion of saying farewell to both of them…

Sunset

Slowly the west reaches for clothes of new colors
which it passes to a row of ancient trees.
You look, and soon these two worlds both leave you,
one part climbs toward heaven, one sinks to earth,

Leaving you, not really belonging to either,
not so helplessly dark as that house that is silent,
not so unswervingly given to the eternal as that thing
that turns to a star each night and climbs

Leaving you (it is impossible to untangle the threads)
your own life, timid and standing high and growing,
so that, sometimes blocked in, sometimes reaching out,
one moment your life is a stone in you, and the next, a star.

* * *

Leave a Reply

Categories

