Posted by: facetothewind | August 19, 2012

Biking back in time

I was a bit bored here on the foggy hill in Los Osos, so abiding by one of my own aphorisms: when bored, get creative or get into trouble. And one of my dad’s: get outside and blow the ‘stink’ off ya. So I took a long bike ride down Turri Road, a relatively unknown scenic route that is apparently popular for auto ads. It’s terribly scenic with those fuzzy, golden California hills, flower fields and an occasional cow. I’ve been reading Steinbeck’s East of Eden about this area in the early 20th century. It’s a great read if you’re ever planning a trip to Central California. So I thought I would try to see the countryside as it might have looked in old tintypes and hand tinted ambrotypes from the late 19th century and early 20th. Of course the power poles and asphalt roads wouldn’t have been there but you get the idea.

This here is my photo series called West of Eden. Remember, I’m trying to raise money to get that new SONY RX100 (see blog entry earlier). Wouldn’t a print of this look great in your living room? If you’re inspired to buy a photo to help me upgrade my camera, do speak up.

If you want to see these in higher resolution, go to my Flickr Page by clicking here.

Responses

  1. West of Eden: beautiful. Dad’s wisdom to go out and blow the stink off ‘ya: precious.

    Love, Dianna

    Date: Mon, 20 Aug 2012 05:17:59 +0000 To: di_dwdancer@hotmail.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

