Posted by: facetothewind | November 19, 2012

This and that

This entry is a mixed bag visual update on what I’ve been up to. Click on images, poke around, play the video for a full indulgence in my mostly unfabulous life…

First. We finished the performances of Fauré’s Requiem. Life only grants you so many peak experiences and this was very clearly one of them. I stood on stage for 3 nights in a row belting out my best bass parts over the top of the orchestra with sweat running down my leg and chills running up my spine moved almost to tears by the beauty of this music. It was an honor to sing with the Tucson Symphony and Chorus. If you’ve never heard the requiem, give a listen here. It’s not me and it’s not the TSO, but you get the idea…

Steve and Tom were here for the performance. Look at Steve’s gorgeous Paul Newman eyes…

Here’s Tom belting one out at my house…

I was thrilled they were able to come all the way from New Zealand to hear the piece (and attend a wedding). Tom even delivered his praise of the performance — something he doesn’t give away easily. I believe his word was exquisite. Angela said she teared up. Some woman I spoke to in the lobby said it was a religious experience.

* * * *

On another note, Charlie Seltzer is here visiting Tucson and we’re exploring neighborhoods and surrounding desert in search of imagery. We both are photographers packing the same equipment so it’s fun to see what we each come up with. Here are a few of mine from the past couple of days…

* * * *

Finally. Charlie and I went to a monthly foodie party and made ravioli with our friends.

We rolled out the dough and cut the ravioli shapes and stuffed them with pear, pecorino and ricotta cheese and roasted pecans.

Served with a butter and fresh sage sauce. Unbelievably good!


Maybe my life isn’t so unfabulous after all.

Leave a Reply

Categories

