Posted by: facetothewind | March 4, 2013

How to make fabulous Brussels sprouts

I never really liked Brussels sprouts — mostly because they smelled bad cooking them. Then a couple years ago I discovered the proper way to cook them.

Simply put, I barbecue them. I got these fresh from the Tucson Village Farm. Then I steam them for about 4-5 minutes until you can run a skewer through them without smushing them. I then brush them with butter and sprinkle them (lightly) with garlic powder. So here’s what they look like at this point before the grilling…

photo 1

Then, put them on a medium high flame on the grill, close the lid and stand by. Don’t go off and start surfing the Internet or you will come back to a smoldering pile of leaves. It takes only a few minutes. Turn them and then when they’re lightly burned, pull ’em off. Season with salt and pepper and a teeny bit of lemon juice (optional).

photo 2

Yumm yumm!

Responses

  1. Honey, I roast ’em!

    Drizzle some olive oil, salt, and pepper over them, pop them into a 450- to 500-degree over, take ’em out 20 minutes later. Yum yum!!

  2. I love ’em! Yeah,, they smell like cabbage but taste great. They are one vegetable I miss in Thailand. David, please send me your phone number. The one I have doesn’t work–I think I entered it wrong into my phone. XXX Dianna


Leave a Reply

Categories

