Posted by: facetothewind | June 3, 2013

Road Trip Rotovegas

Conrad and I took a road trip north from Wellington to Rotorua, a lake resort area known for its geothermal activity. The houses and motels are mostly all generously geothermally heated and there are numerous hot pools to soak in. We stayed at a great B&B that had a fabulous pool and spa. We spent hours just floating in them during the day and under the stars at night. It was so nice to thaw out from Wellington’s cold…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Oh, and since several folks have made Lord of the Rings references, let me just shamelessly post this picture of me with someone known well here in Middle Earth.

Sir Ian &  David

I met this dashing gentleman back when I was at the peak of my radio career in the US and was part of a fundraising evening in Miami honoring LGBT movers and shakers and I happened to be one of the honorees. Sir Ian was on hand to give the keynote speech. Ah, my Belle Époque.

Responses

  1. Dear David,

    Im glad you and Conrad did end up taking this trip together and that you had a chance to thaw out.

    For the first time, though, I couldnt see your pictures.

    What happened? Did you send them differently, or is there something needed on my end? What is Java Script?

    Love, Jean

    on 6/3/13 2:24 PM, Field notes from a noticer at comment-reply@wordpress.com wrote:

    > facetothewind posted: “Conrad and I took a road trip north from Wellington to > Rotorua, a lake resort area known for its geothermal activity. The houses and > motels are mostly all generously geothermally heated and there are numerous > hot pools to soak in. We stayed at a great B&a” >

    • Oh gosh, I will have to look into that. Maybe try a different web browser to look at my blog. Try Safari or Firefox. Or call it up on your iphone.

      Yes, was great to get out.

      Steve has reached a new low. Last night after I’m glowing from the weekend, he comes in and says, “I know you don’t trust me and so we have no basis for a friendship and you’re using me for housing.” WTF!??? I don’t trust him b/c he has been a douche canoe! And I told him so, finally. And I think he got it. But to accuse me of using him when he has been a maniacal dick b/c he split up with his BF while I was here was just the last straw.

      So I’m just counting the minutes until I’m out of here. I can’t believe what a hot mess he is.

      Tom is gracious and easy by contrast. I don’t know how he put up with Steve all those years.

      I may have to stop this traveling thing. I have not had a good time this trip…though there have been fun moments.

      I have a local boyfriendish kind of connection too, which has been so nice. His name is Yee. More about him another time. He’s private and so doesn’t want anything on my blog about him.

      Big hugs and love to you from hellhole as your own trip draws near.

      Love,

      David

      On 6/4/13 9:40 AM, “Field notes from a noticer”


Leave a Reply

Categories

