Posted by: facetothewind | June 26, 2013

Wow, I can’t believe it happened!

HmL8a.WiPh2.91

So the Supreme Court just ruled that it will allow federal rights to gay couples married in any of the 12 states or in a foreign country where it is legal. I am still trying to wrap my mind around this as it deeply affects my personal life. This means that now I can marry a boyfriend, even if he is from another country, in a state in the US where it is legal or even in a foreign country and that he would then be able to apply for a green card in the US. These are rights that my straight brothers and sisters have had their whole lives. And now I get them too. Wehoo, oh to no longer be a second class citizen. And maybe, maybe this means I don’t have to grow old and alone in my own country if I have been harboring a love in a different country. Thanks for growing the hell up, United States. For more information on what this means, visit the Immigration Equality website. Maybe on this trip I will be bringing home more than just a lousy t-shirt.

 

Responses

  1. Tears are running from my eyes in happiness. Wow…finally I can legally marry my boyfriend AND he will not have to fly back to Europe every 88 days as he did the last 2 years

    • My husband and I have been doing the back and fourth thing going on 5 years. Paris to NYC. and this last time would have been the hardest, but no more!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. That too…is what I have been doing


Leave a Reply

Categories

