Posted by: facetothewind | June 29, 2013

Tortoises of the Old Asia

Here’s a little miniseries of photos I’m working on of Thai bicycle rickshaws. (Actually they’re tricycles.) They were all sweet guys and not resistant to being photographed. They all seemed to have a sense of pride about their rigs of teak and chrome. I took a ride with one of them — they are not speed demons. They pedal slowly and silently through traffic like tortoises being passed by the motorcycle hares. Fun to be part of an old Asia and a green version of transportation near and dear to my heart. I felt a kinship for these guys, most of whom are much older than I. I only hope I have the stamina to do such hard pedaling in my old age…

Myanmar David Gilmore photo

rickshaw 1

rickshaw 2

rickshaw 3

David Gilmore Thailand 4

David Gilmore Thailand 2

David Gilmore Thailand 1

David Gilmore Thailand 3

David Gilmore Thailand 6

Leave a Reply

Categories

