Posted by: facetothewind | August 7, 2013

Remembering Nancy Reeder

 

Oh no!! Just when you think your heart can’t be broken again it happens. My dear friend Nancy Reeder died tonight. I just got the call from Alex that she went to the doctor about her ongoing struggle with pancreatic cancer and the doctor urged her to check into a hospice right away. Apparently she did and she died before even spending one night. What determination this woman had to survive this vicious cancer and when she knew she wasn’t going to make it, she just let go and went as soon as possible. I’m so sorry to lose this precious being from my life but I’m glad she is not going to suffer more from that cancer. IMG_0725 Nancy was a good friend and an extraordinary person who fearlessly reinvented her life as needed. She was a tender, funny, smart, compassionate woman who loved life itself. I was so close to being home to see her again and didn’t make it in time. Oddly, the last time I saw her before I took off for New Zealand, we said goodbye at my house and I had the distinct feeling I was saying goodbye forever. Indeed I was. More about this beloved woman later. I have uploaded these photos in high resolution. Feel free to download them and share them as you wish.

Responses

  1. Great photos and tender words. I’m saddened at this moment. I will miss her bright presence. Take care.

  2. I’m sorry I’ve never met Nancy. She looks like a fun-loving person! Sympathies to you, David.

  3. What a beautiful photograph of Nancy, David. I’m sorry you lost your friend. Love, Jean

    Sent from my iPad

  4. Nancy was an incredible woman. We met in a 7 levels of healing group and she added such sparkle with her smile and her new “35 year plan”. She will be deeply missed by all who were lucky enough to know her. If anyone knows if there will be a funeral service or “life celebration”, please let us know.

  5. Bev, I will let you know when I find out about a memorial for her.

  6. Did I meet her? I think so. She seems quite familiar. At a piano party? Did she sing with you? Much love David, and yes, your heart can break again and again and again because you keep opening it again and again and again.
    Hugs!

  7. I had the privilege of meeting Nancy just a few short months ago in Washington DC for Advocacy Day with the Pancreatic Cancer Action Network. I heard through the grapevine that we lost her, and on my search for more information, found this beautiful post. I only spent a few short days with her in DC, but she was obviously a special lady.
    On Oct. 27th in Phoenix (as well as many other cities across the nation on the same night), there will be a candle light vigil remembering those we have lost to pancreatic cancer. I will be adding her name to my list of remembrances, but wanted to also let those who knew her better know that this event is available to help remember Nancy. If anyone is interested, information will be available on purplelight.org.
    I’m sorry for your loss.

  8. Thank you so much for this beautiful message. I am Nancy’s niece from Texas. Forever in memory…


Leave a Reply

Categories

