Posted by: facetothewind | November 7, 2013

Update on (nearly) all things

It’s been a while since I posted and several people thought I died or have been given over to the melancholy. No way, baby. Been having a great time living life instead of blogging. But it’s time to catch up and if I’m not going to Facebook, I better get my photos up on the blog. So here’s my life in the last few weeks in pictures (working backward to forward)…

A stunning concert by Lang Lang in Tucson. This brought the Chinese residents out in big numbers. I have never been pushed and shoved so much in line for a classical concert. Chinese have a different notion of physical space. But it was great to see what a rock star he is to them.

A stunning concert by Lang Lang in Tucson. This brought the Chinese residents out in big numbers. I have never been pushed and shoved so much in line for a classical concert. Chinese have a different notion of physical space. But it was great to see what a rock star he is to them.

October and November are the months for olive harvesting in Tucson. It’s a great excuse to climb trees.

Olives

Each one must be slit for the brining. It’s a fun seasonal meditation and turning something inedible into something delish…and it’s free!

I produced the slideshow for Nancy Reeder's memorial. It was painful to do, but good medicine for me to complete her life and it was appreciated by her loved ones. It was an honor to honor her life.

I produced the slideshow for Nancy Reeder’s memorial. It was painful to do, but good medicine for me to complete her life and it was appreciated by her loved ones. It was an honor to honor her life.

Took a quick business/pleasure trip to California. Here’s the video encapsulation. It begins at the Monterey Bay Aquarium and then on to Esalen and Stinson Beach…

Onward to Santa Cruz for a day and a walk along the coast in my dandy pants.

Onward to Santa Cruz for a day and a walk along the coast in my dandy pants.

I spent the afternoon with Jesse Rose DeRooy, an old friend who was the amazing editor of Outright Radio for years.

I spent the afternoon with Jesse Rose DeRooy, an old friend who was the amazing editor of Outright Radio for years.

We went to Saturn for a mini-madness dessert, just for old time's sake. Great to spend some time with an old friend and to see how she's grown since I first met her fresh out of college.

We went to Saturn for a mini-madness dessert, just for old time’s sake. Great to spend some time with an old friend and to see how she’s grown since I first met her fresh out of college.

Onward to paradise: Esalen. You've heard me wax about it before. My whole body just melts into bliss there. And bliss isn't a word I use often.

Onward to paradise: Esalen. You’ve heard me wax about it before. My whole body just melts into bliss there. And bliss isn’t a word I use often.

What's not to love about a place set on Big Sur's miraculously beautiful coastal cliffs. (And of course the beautiful people...look closely.)

What’s not to love about a place set on Big Sur’s miraculously beautiful coastal cliffs. (And of course the beautiful people…look closely.)

I went to work on a book for my good friend January who heads up the Gazebo Park preschool on property.

I went to work on a book for my good friend January who heads up the Gazebo Park preschool on property.

And I went to see Marjana, my Slovenian friend who also works for Gazebo.

And I went to see Marjana, my Slovenian friend who also works for Gazebo.

We drank wine at sunset and had little tea parties in the afternoon watching dolphins.

We drank wine at sunset and had little tea parties in the afternoon watching dolphins.

The day's beauty culminates at sunset. It's a tranquil time with the anticipation of a very special dinner being cooked for us inside the lodge.

The day’s beauty culminates at sunset. It’s a tranquil time with the anticipation of a very special dinner being cooked for us inside the lodge.

Just after sunset. The pool is heated with hot spring water.

Just after sunset. The pool is heated with hot spring water.

How many pictures of sunset at Esalen must I shoot in order to try to capture the peace in my heart that it brings?

How many pictures of sunset at Esalen must I shoot in order to try to capture the peace in my heart that it brings?

Monarchs were on their migratory way somewhere, but stopped off at Esalen for some nectar.

Monarchs were on their migratory way somewhere, but stopped off at Esalen for some nectar.

Some other butterfly whose name I don't know was also there.

Some other butterfly whose name I don’t know was also there.

Then on to the East Bay to work on a garden rehab project. I produced a video for them and this garden sign.
Then on to the East Bay to work on a garden rehab project. I produced a video for them and this garden sign.

I got an insider's look at a Tesla S from one the engineers. This is a prototype. Spectacular vehicle made in the Bay Area. This car is $70,000 and gets 300 miles on one charge, has no knobs inside (all controlled on the screen) and goes from 0-60 in 4.2 seconds. I've been thinking of getting a car but am going to hold out for Tesla's economy model due to come out in a few years. An electric car can potentially last forever.

I got an insider’s look at a Tesla S from one the engineers. This is a prototype of a spectacular all electric vehicle made in the Bay Area. This car is $70,000 and gets 300 miles on one charge, has no knobs inside (all controlled on the screen) and goes from 0-60 in 4.2 seconds. I’ve been thinking of getting a car but am going to hold out for Tesla’s economy model due to come out in a few years. An electric car can potentially last forever.

Then on to see Jean in Marin and spend a day with her in West Marin. Here she is on Stinson Beach. Click panorama to enlarge.

Then on to see Jean in Marin and spend a day with her at the coast. Here she is on Stinson Beach. Click panorama to enlarge. We had an overpriced meal after buzzing around town trying to find a parking spot. California. Beautiful, overcrowded, and overpriced. Is it worth it?

Met up with my friend Lawrence and we went to a food boutique (aka grocery store) in San Francisco. A small bottle of water is $4. Lawrence is doing well. So smart, charming, accomplished, and of course easy on the eyes. We sat in the living room trading favorite songs.

Met up with my friend Lawrence and we went to a food boutique (aka grocery store) in San Francisco. A small bottle of water is $4. Lawrence is doing well. So smart, charming, accomplished, and of course easy on the eyes. We sat in the living room trading favorite songs.

Interesting to note that after 20 years of going to Esalen, I've never had any intimate contact with a man there. So this time I brought my new black boyfriend. I made him squeal for hours.

Meet my new black boyfriend. He goes with me everywhere, is always hard, and I can make him squeal for hours.

Simon and I went on a road trip to Santa Cruz which included a visit to the fabulous Kelly's Bakery for chocolate mousse and lemon tart. It was probably the best chocolate mousse I've ever had. Simon is still playful and good company. We lay on the beach in the Indian summer sun, chatting about classical music while I practiced my clarinet.

Simon and I went on a road trip to Santa Cruz which included a visit to the fabulous Kelly’s Bakery for chocolate mousse and lemon tart. It was probably the best chocolate mousse I’ve ever had. Simon is still playful and good company. We lay on the beach in the Indian summer sun, chatting about classical music while I practiced my clarinet.

Dan and I went out for dinner at Frances in the Castro in San Francisco. He had the quail and I the vegetable casserole.

Dan and I went out for dinner at Frances in the Castro in San Francisco. He had the quail and I the vegetable casserole.

Frances' food was really excellent. The interior plain and when it was crowded, it was noisy. We had to tone down our private conversations so as not to shock the neighboring tables who seemed right at our elbows. The bill for 2 appetizers, 2 entrees, 1 small glass of wine and 1 small glass of beer and 1 dessert was $150 with tax and tip. Was it worth it? I don't know. I didn't pay. Thank you, Dan. He can answer that question.

Frances’ food was really excellent. The interior plain and when it was crowded, it was noisy. We had to tone down our private conversations so as not to shock the neighboring tables who seemed right at our elbows. The bill for 2 appetizers, 2 entrees, 1 small glass of wine and 1 small glass of beer and 1 dessert was $150 with tax and tip. Was it worth it? I don’t know. I didn’t pay. Thank you, Dan. He can answer that question.

Saw this in a vintage book in Logos Bookstore in SC. It kind of sums up life in the Bay Area...take all my bread. Glad I have friends who can share their bread with me.

Saw this in a vintage book in Logos Bookstore in SC. It kind of sums up life in the Bay Area…take all my bread.

Glad I have friends who can share their bread with me.

Next stop: Fort Myers, Florida to be with my family for a month.

Responses

  1. Wow. You sure lead a rich, fulfilling life!

    Love the photographs, especially of the olives, your striped pants, the gardens, and sunset. That panoramic shot is pretty spectacular, too.

    Funny, I haven’t heard “bread” used for “money” in ages. It’s nice to hear.

    Wish you lived closer so we could go around having adventures together.

  2. David,
    Nice to catch up wtih you. As always I read of an account of Esalen that does not include ME with a heavy feeling in my heart. I love it so well that I’m both drawn to your photos and stories and jealous of your being there without me. But I am glad you caught up wtih January and that you had such a fun trip. Loved what you wrote about “How many pictures of the sunset at Esalen do I have to take?” I too have an insatiable desire/need to gaze out at the water there…you know it’s the place where the native people went for or after death, right? It’s a jumping-off place for the spirits, to go to the next world. You and I (and millions of others) are just gazing into the future, there. For me that’s especially true as my ashes will be scattered at (or near) Esalen when the time comes, if Esalen still exists then…

    I’m thrilled that you’re coming to Florida! Please email me your phone number and please book a night or two to come up here if you have wheels, or find a time when I can come see you.
    xxx
    G


Leave a Reply

Categories

