Posted by: facetothewind | May 9, 2014

Shortening the Bucket List

In a little over a month, I’m heading East around the world (one of my bucket list items) starting from Tucson by train to San Francisco. Then flying to New York and continuing on east from there but not by plane!

I’ve always wanted to sail across the ocean and finally as part of my half century of life, I’m doing it. It’s a big indulgence but hey you only live once and the goal is to die broke and with nothing left on your bucket list. So Jean and I sail from New York on Friday the 13th on the Queen Mary 2. A week later — unjetlagged and ungroped by airport security — we arrive in Southampton, England. Here’s a great video of the ship as a preview…

 

From England I continue by train to Paris on the Eurostar through the Chunnel (another of my bucket list items). Then I fly to Venice (yet another bucket item) and meet up with Marjana in Slovenia and then do a road trip through Croatian coastal towns. From there I head back to Italy to finally see Venice  (the bucket list is getting dangerously short now) and then fly through Qatar to Kuala Lumpur in search of the last and most elusive item on my life’s great wish list…a boyfriend.

Then I can kick the bucket. Kabong.

Responses

  1. Aren’t you going to stick around to enjoy the boyfriend after you find him?!?

  2. If you do everything on your bucket list, what will you have to look forward to? Except maybe to meet the love of your life, the most elusive. I’m still waiting… Love, Di

  3. Yay! soon, soon, soon 🙂

  4. T-minus 13 days and counting!

    Wait’ll you see the ship pass under the Verrazano Narrows bridge, with inches to spare. It’s so thrilling it can’t be described. You have to experience it.

    And we’ll have champagne glasses in our hands while we’re doing it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

