Posted by: facetothewind | July 6, 2014

Land of Castles and Cathedrals

IMG_8461

I jumped on EasyJet which was not easy at all. But I think Not Easy Jet or Difficult Jet doesn’t quite have the same ring to it. The boarding process in Paris was a mess. It took me nearly 2 hours to go through all the lines and crowds. It’s a shade better than Ryan Air but not much. Then I spent over 4 hours just waiting in the Venice airport until my shuttle bus shuttled me off to Lubljana, Slovenia where Marjana picked me up and took me to her parents’ house in Smarjeske Toplice…don’t ask me how to pronounce that. I couldn’t figure out how to get the little moons over the S’s making them into a shhhh sound. ANYWAY…WELCOME TO SLOVENIA…

DSC00586

It is truly the land of milk and honey and castles and cathedrals. But not the land of crowds. I was stunned how there were no people wherever we went. Slovenia is, after all, a country of only 2 million people. The people are friendly but not like American friendly. More like German friendly…it’s a friendly sort of austerity, though I’d say they are more humble than Germans. They don’t have the wealth and infamy of their Austrian and German neighbors. They are not inundated with tourists and though I don’t stand out as a tourist with my big nose, simply being American makes me exotic. So I found that they were curious about me and eager to chat in English.

DSC00513

Mari and her parents were fantastic and gracious hosts, cooking meals, sharing wine in the garden and driving me all around the verdant countryside. Mari patiently put up with me insisting she model for me…

DSC00718

And then occasionally I modeled for her…

IMG_8528

So thank you Miss Mari and Stanko family for a great time. Here are some shots from our tour around the countryside and a little bit of the medieval coastal Slovenian town of Pirana (where I am now) and a bit of Momjan, Croatia mixed in…

NEXT STOP: Pirana, Slovenia where I am for most of this week and then VENICE

Responses

  1. OMG, I’m so envious!!

    Pirana looks gorgeous. No surprise that it’s bereft of tourists; apparently the whole Istrian peninsula is still relatively undiscovered (and a highly recommended place for retiring), though I can’t believe that undiscovered status is going to last long. Lucky you to be there now. Tell Mari she’s a beautiful model.

    Glad to see you’re going to Venice — I started to wonder when you said you were stuck in the airport waiting for a bus. Just curious — why Slovenia first and then backtracking to Venice?

    Be prepared for the onslaught of tourists you’ll see there. I’ve been to Venice many times, always off-season, and it remains the single most magical place I’ve ever been. But I’ve never seen it overrun. Anyway, don’t forget — the vaporetto of Line #1 that makes its long, slow, winding way down the entire length of the Grand Canal, as the fading, crumbling, but still magnificent palazzi slide by. If you can do it close to sunset, it’s all the more spectacular.

    And do take a day trip to the Lido. Actually, it’s an afternoon or morning trip; doesn’t take a whole day. Also the island of Burano, where they make lace, as opposed to Murano, where they make glass; the latter is way more crowded.

    And don’t forget the Tintoretto museum-church, the Scuola Grande di San Rocco!

    Oh, god, I’m getting teary just thinking about it.

  2. Beautiful time!!! 🙂
    Feeling happy about the whole(-ness of) experience. My folks shouting joyous thanks for the gift. Aaaand sending love to your Piran experience this week.
    MosquitoHuggitoooo

    p.s.: thank you Ms Lisa 🙂 most definitely starting to enjoy it

  3. Slovenia looks very lovely. Is that a vineyard I see? What does Mari do there?

    When will you land?

    Love, Dianna


Leave a Reply

Categories

