Posted by: facetothewind | August 25, 2014

Capturing a Place

Walking-KL

Went for a walk today in Masjid Jamek, the neighborhood surrounding the oldest mosque in Kuala Lumpur. It’s a bit too much embracing of Islam to actually go inside the mosque. My feet can’t walk without shoes and I had shorts and a t-shirt on so am forbidden. So I just walked around the neighborhood feeling my enthusiasm for KL slipping as it just seems to be traffic and stinky buses.

Bus and KL

Pedestrians are squished in a sea of cars. I found myself getting really disillusioned with this place.

DSC01948

And when I’m cranky I try to pull myself out by being creative, capturing the essence of a place. I try to capture the good, the bad, the pretty, the ugly. I document it in imagery.

Central-Market-Kuala-Lumpur

And then somehow ugly transforms. It starts to become pretty in some way — or at least more meaningful.

DSC01901

 Decay transforms into abstract art…

DSC01965

 Ugliness becomes a reflection of my mood…

DSC01897

As I try to release the gates that keep my mind locked in judgment…

DSC01920

…and feast instead on what’s laid before me..

DSC01957

I pig out on the global branding that made the world fat…

DSC01910

I embrace the new and the old…

DSC01907

…the East and the West…

DSC01918

 I let myself get lost in the crowd…

DSC01958

 I am unique, like everyone else.

DSC01961

And then a bit of sparkle can come back to a previously drab place…

DSC01943

And at the end of the day, whether I’ve liked or disliked, at least I observed and captured my view of this life we’ve created. I’ve noticed and witnessed and sometimes that’s all I can do.

Responses

  1. A poem of pictures and revelry, sweet journey through your lens…thank you!

  2. January is right. I love the romance you bring to your experience, David, and the way you share visual and spiritual with us.

  3. Really great photos again. Could this be a travel essay? I think so…with a bit more text, a bit more of a narrative woven in. But the photos are so great. BTW as a former ex-pat (of four different foreign countries) I should have warned you about culture shock or at least shared with you my experience, particularly from when I lived in Egypt. Not enough time now but I will say that at first I was entranced, and then once I moved there and had to deal with day-today matters (as a resident and a working person, not a visitor), I became disillusioned, as you sound. The good news, as I understand it, is that culture shock peaks at about 6 months and then dissipates. Unfortunately, I didn’t make it past about 8 months. But if I’d known then that it would likely get better after 6 months, I would have stayed. Sorry this is so jumbled, but I want to encourage you to keep exploring, keep finding the beauty and keep photographing and writing about everything. It’s good work. xxx

  4. Some people, when they’re old or getting old, tend to reflect back on their lives. You have the talent of reflecting on your life and your world while you’re living it. Your words and images are really beautiful! Thanks, Dianna


Leave a Reply

Categories

