Posted by: facetothewind | February 25, 2015

Prisms of My Past Life

David-Gilmore-photography-White-Sands

Prisms of My Past Life

A poem by January Handl • photo by David Gilmore

I have been fractured
By the exquisite knife edge
Of love’s sharp blade
And all the wholeness I build,
Or march toward
Eludes me
While whispering promises
Of rest and peace.

I raise my voice in anguish
Trying to drown out
The despair’s high pitched
Keening wail
And realize my cries for help
Aren’t heard because
I haven’t released them
From my heart

What I know disappears
And I am forced to stand
In the shifting sands
Of the unknowable
Unknown

And the light
That I thought
Illuminated
My crystalline
shimmering selfhood
was actually,
always and
forever
me

Responses

  1. beautiful pairing dear one. love j


Leave a Reply

Categories

