Posted by: facetothewind | October 5, 2015

Crazy Haze

Kuala-Lumpur-haze-pollution

If you’ve read my blog before, you’ve seen what the view from my apartment can be. Now look at it (above). This heinous air pollution comes to us courtesy Indonesia where they are practicing slash and burn agriculture and clearing forests for palm oil plantations. On the ground, this is what it looks like…

IMG_4968

This is what it looks like from outer space. Kuala Lumpur is somewhere under that upper layer of smoke as we are pretty close to the source of the smoke.

IMG_4969

And this is what it does to the air quality…

IMG_4987

So we’ve taken to wearing masks and staying indoors mostly with the windows closed. In my opinion, Malaysia is currently uninhabitable. The locals are amazingly tolerant and rugged to put up with this year after year. I now have an upper respiratory infection just from breathing the little outside air that I do. In the evening when my cough starts, Chuan hits my back and out pops some big wad of green goo. It’s truly disgusting.

IMG_4927

I asked my friend Cynthia the other day, “Would you rather be gunned down in fresh air in America or have your purse snatched in the smog of Malaysia?” Her answer: “Be gunned down in fresh air…just saying.” I had to laugh at the lunacy of this mad, mad, mad, mad world we’ve created.

Still I don’t miss the opportunity to smell a frangipani. Chuan and I are going to Bali in a few weeks for a little lush life. Can’t wait!

IMG_4933

Living in Malaysia is the definition of true love…

IMG_4991

Only 115 more days of this.

Responses

  1. Yucky, yuck, yuck! How horrible! We should all try not to use products containing palm oil. These greedy s.o.b.’s, hope they die a slow, painful death. What the hell are the gov’ts of Indonesia and Malaysia thinking? They must be raking in lots of bribe money. May they rot in hell, too!

    I loved this blog, though, laughed at your last photo!

    Cool-looking face masks–do they really work? Where are they made?

    XO, D.


Leave a Reply

Categories

