Posted by: facetothewind | October 9, 2015

Chow Kit Market

chow-kit

Remember that open air market that I used to go to when I first moved to Chow Kit? I shopped there for my produce until they opened the mall next door. Chow Kit Market was a place where one could see things a woman’s not ‘posed to see…like piles of animal heads with their tongues hanging out, screaming chickens getting their heads cut off and thrown flapping into a bucket, guys peeing in public, and rats, rats, rats. Even the local government declared it unsanitary as they were catching 50 rats per hour there. It was the place where the prices jumped up as I, the only white person to shop there, waded through the flies, stepping over fish parts.  You can read my original posting on it by clicking here. Someone wrote this (not me!) on TripAdvisor…

Screen-Shot-2015-10-09-at-5.18.52-PM

Well, last night just as I was lying down to sleep I heard sirens. And more sirens. So I opened the drapes to see glowing orange and smoke in the place where Chow Kit’s wet market is…was. Yep, it went up in flames a bit past midnight. Perhaps the only way to close such a market without a lot of push back from the community would be to torch it and run. Who knows? Unlikely we’ll ever know. But that’s just how things work in this part of the world and don’t ask questions. So the underworld of the Chow Kit Market was sent up into the night air in a greasy cloud of black smoke while I watched from afar. I don’t think anyone was hurt. I do wonder where all the rats went…pulling up the draw bridge now.

Rest in peace.

img_0522

Leave a Reply

Categories

