Posted by: facetothewind | November 4, 2016

Doddering on the Edge

img_8696

There comes a point in most people’s lives when if they are paying attention, they can put their finger on that very moment when they had in fact crossed over into old age. I had that moment on the way to visit the Grand Canyon last week. As I was loading up the car to drive with Chuan and Trish for their first visit to one of the world’s greatest wonders, I salivated about the photographic possibilities with my new micro four-thirds camera. And then when we were about a half hour down the road I realized I left my camera bag sitting on the floor by the door of the house. How could I make such a dumb mistake? I’ll tell you how: it’s called “old people can’t multitask.” Loading the car, dealing with a different breakfast routine, a new apartment, some new car keys and a vacation rental, road maps, phone chargers, and 2 lovely travel companions with questions – something important dropped out of my brain.

So there I am (above) on the edge of the cliff of the most photogenic natural site on the planet equipped with only my iPhone that is almost as old as the canyon itself. Please now enjoy some mediocre photography brought to you by my iPhone5 whose battery was expanding and about to explode. The image quality improves for the Arcosanti and Sedona portion of the trip as I was reunited with my new camera.

Here’s the video of the trip. You can witness the thunderous underwhelment when Chuan and Trish walked up to the Canyon for their first glimpse into the abyss…

We went on from the Big Ditch to gorgeous Sedona and stopped in at the Chapel of the Holy Cross. It’s a bit overrun by tourists but a really great piece of architecture and wonderfully calming inside (see video). Sedona is a beautiful town full of UFO chasers and new agers. Isn’t the term new age old already? Anyway, it’s like Marin in Arizona and it’s all in my favorite color…ORANGE! I realized that if you live in Sedona, surrounded by so much orange, you’d have to dress in complimentary colors. Even the McDonald’s in Sedona was required to do their signature golden arches in turquoise. Still, one can never get enough orange so I was thrilled.

chapel-of-holy-cross-sedona

From Sedona we went on to Arcosanti – one of the strangest places in Arizona. It’s a defunct Utopian city designed by Paolo Soleri. Once it promised to be a prototypical city of the future, now it is a crumbling mess of concrete that harkens to a time of greater idealism and one man’s quest to make his mark. It’s a bit like a cross between Ancient Babylon and Planet of the Apes.

Arcosanti David Gilmore.jpg

Here’s the montage of imagery…

It was a great little trip. Thank you to Trish for driving and Ning for your day pass.

Next stop: Florida to meet the family

Responses

  1. Oh, wow, gorgeous photos, as always. Especially the one with the long shadows.

  2. You two look happy and handsome 🙂 ❤

  3. You really cannot appreciate the Grand Canyon from the rim(s). To really understand its magnificence, you have to get down into it. Even one mile down is completely different than the rim. If you are imaging some massive simple hole in the ground, it is “disappointing” from the rim because it is more layered than that.

  4. Thanks, as always, for the sweet, effortless (for me) travels!

  5. Dear David,

    Your Yiddisha Mama says please do not do any more doddering on the edge of a cliff! But, the glamorous pose was très superb!

    I had to laugh at Chuan’s underwhelment(?) at the sight of the Grand Canyon as I remember feeling likewise all those many years ago when Jake’s father dragged me to see what I thought of as “a big hole in the ground.” How ungracious was that!

    Today is voting day and my ear is glued to NPR. I will miss the humor it has evoked. I wonder if the country will ever recover and reconcile from this divisiveness.

    I am biding my time here as the powers that be become more and more authoritarian. They have closed down hundreds of web sites and have increased their numbers of arrests and jailing of people accused of lèse majeste. Incredibly insecure!

    I think I’ll go back to Woodstock in February, if I can last that long.

    I saw Deborah last week as we both happened to be in CM. She just received the unhappy news that her rent has doubled since she was away traveling. She told me that Larry will be coming to Pai next month. Is he one of the friends you said were coming to Ing Doi?

    Tourism seems down. Of course, who wants to vacation where all forms of entertainment are curtailed while the country is in mourning? It’s fine for old farts like me, but most of the tourists are young!

    Hoping you and Chuan are enjoying a lovely winter!

    Love, Dianna

    On Nov 5, 2016 12:50 AM, “Field notes from a noticer” wrote:

    > facetothewind posted: ” There comes a point in most people’s lives, that > if they are paying attention, they can put their finger on that very moment > when they had in fact crossed over into old age. I had that moment the day > we were to visit the Grand Canyon last week. As I was” >

  6. Dear David,

    Your Yiddisha Mama says please do not do any more doddering on the edge of a cliff! But, the glamorous pose was très superb!

    I had to laugh at Chuan’s underwhelment(?) at the sight of the Grand Canyon as I remember feeling likewise all those many years ago when Jake’s father dragged me to see what I thought of as “a big hole in the ground.” How ungracious was that!

    Today is voting day and my ear is glued to NPR. I will miss the humor it has evoked. I wonder if the country will ever recover and reconcile from this divisiveness.

    I am biding my time here as the powers that be become more and more authoritarian. They have closed down hundreds of web sites and have increased their numbers of arrests and jailing of people accused of lèse majeste. Incredibly insecure!

    I think I’ll go back to Woodstock in February, if I can last that long.

    I saw Deborah last week as we both happened to be in CM. She just received the unhappy news that her rent has doubled since she was away traveling. She told me that Larry will be coming to Pai next month. Is he one of the friends you said were coming to Ing Doi?

    Tourism seems down. Of course, who wants to vacation where all forms of entertainment are curtailed while the country is in mourning? It’s fine for old farts like me, but most of the tourists are young!

    Hoping you and Chuan are enjoying a lovely winter!

    Love, Dianna

    On Nov 5, 2016 12:50 AM, “Field notes from a noticer” wrote:

    facetothewind posted: ” There comes a point in most people’s lives, that if they are paying attention, they can put their finger on that very moment when they had in fact crossed over into old age. I had that moment the day we were to visit the Grand Canyon last week. As I was”


Leave a Reply

Categories

