Posted by: facetothewind | May 13, 2017

Goodbye for the Summer

Opener.JPG

Haoyen and Waituck greeting Chuan at the airport in KL where they dropped him off a year ago. This time no tears.

It was the best of times, it was (NOT) the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity. 

We left Malaysia. We got married. We returned to Tucson for the fair season. And it was the longest time in my life when living in Tucson didn’t suck. We sang with the symphony. We swam in the river. Chuan cooked. I ate. We drank. We cycled. We argued a little and loved a lot. Chuan became a permanent resident and taught Chinese and piano. I wrote a book on our epic love affair (coming soon). The owls gave birth and the owlets fledged.

Chuan has gone back to Malaysia to cut his mother’s hair. So I’m a bachelor for a month which means I have to learn how to cook again. I’ve hardly cooked a meal since Chuan arrived. Tucson hit the 100 degree mark and so the summer migration has begun. Onward to the cool and foggy Bay Area, then the California foothills for a wedding, then Mexico for 6 weeks to explore our American exit strategy options. Then on to Oregon for the solar eclipse. Then the wine country for a men’s retreat, back to San Francisco, and finally home in September. Home. Tucson, Arizona…a place that has gotten enormously better in the years since I left it (twice) and enormously better since Chuan moved in and spruced up my life. Life is sweet in what seems like a nation coming apart.

Here’s a really short video clip of the mostly uneventful spring…

Responses

  1. As usual David, I love your pics and so enjoy hearing how your life is unfolding…in LOVE! You are rocking this life!❤️

  2. Dear David,

    Thank you for another brilliant window into your life! I thoroughly enjoyed reading it, as always. Loved your poignant comment about the concert hall where Chuan was at the piano. Also enjoyed the funny dialogue when he got back to Malaysia. His mother must have been thrilled to see him.

    It’s strange to me that Tucson is nearing the 100 degree mark when here it remains in the 50’s during the day–and they call this “spring??” I’ve been here for two and a half months and have been comfortable, weather-wise, for two days. Forecast calls for summer weather next week; I will believe it when I see/feel it.

    Tomorrow I will go into NYC to start radiation treatment to my eye. A few minutes each treatment five days a week for two and a half weeks. I’m planning to go home on weekends. First week I’m staying at an expensive hotel near the hospital. Second week, I got lucky to get a room at Hope Lodge, a hotel for cancer patients run by the Cancer Society, which is free!

    I’m trying to get rid of stuff that I won’t need here since the studio I’m in is totally furnished. But my friends are hoping to rent it out through AirBnB on or about July 15, so I’ll probably move into a guest house in town, cannot afford exorbitant AirBnB rates. The guest house is expensive, too, but they’ll give me 10% off for long-term, in effect eliminating the tax, still exorbitant at $95/night which includes good Continental breakfast. I’m selling my used car that I’ve only used a couple of months but will be glad to be in town where I don’t need a car.

    Having much to do with disposing of stuff. Stuff can be a real nuisance when you don’t want it anymore!

    Charlie Chaplin is a genius! You are so lucky to get to see great films.

    I get to read your book every few days, a little at a time. I don’t see anything I would change. It’s marvelous!

    My life has been much enriched by being here. I’ve gotten involved with a couple of political events that were very satisfying to me. I take a couple of exercise classes and a singing group (jazz tunes from the 40s,50s, etc.). Have gotten a few hours of working my old job.

    Although I find the weather uncomfortable, I enjoy the forsythia, lilacs, and other flowers that suddenly appear out of the gloomy, often rainy, days.

    Wishing you and Chuan a beautiful summer.

    Love, Dianna

    On Sun, May 14, 2017 at 12:36 AM, Field notes from a noticer wrote:

    > facetothewind posted: ” It was the best of times, it was (NOT) the worst > of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was > the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity. We left Malaysia. We > got married. We returned to Tucson for the fair seaso” >


Leave a Reply

Categories

